Training

To book a place on one of our training sessions or to find out more, call us on 020 7288 3580 or email whl@nhs.net

Literature searching
 
Learn how to Devise and execute a good search strategy using both keyword and subject heading searches; search primary research databases effectively by combining searches using AND/OR operators; refine your results using limits; export, Email, Save your results.

Tuesday 8 August  12pm 2pm
Wednesday 6 September  2pm - 4pm
Friday 6 October  12.30pm 2.30pm
Wednesday 1 November  1pm 3pm
 
Introduction to the Critical Appraisal of Quantitative Research
 
Introduce the main concepts of critical appraisal of research, including CASP checklists;  discuss features of quantitative research, including basic statistical concepts of power, presentation of results, confidence intervals and P values;  appraise a quantitative paper (RCT) in detail, using the appropriate CASP checklist.
 
Wednesday 13 September  1pm 4pm
Monday 9 October  1pm 4pm
 
Introduction to the Critical Appraisal of Qualitative Research
 
Learn how to understand key elements in the successful and accurate appraisal of a paper, discuss the features of qualitative research and the key terminology associated with it, and use a CASP checklist to critically appraise a qualitative research article.
 
Wednesday 4 October  1pm 3.30pm
Thursday 26 October  1pm 3.30pm
 
Endnote
 
Learn how to use this reference management software to store and organise your references, download references from databases like PubMed and HDAS, automatically manage and insert references in Microsoft Word, and sync references with Endnote Web, the online version of Endnote.

Tuesday 26 September 12pm 1pm
Wednesday 18 October  1pm 2pm
Working on it!